top of page

What is Going On at The Arcade?

I was reading the latest edition of The Arcade, the brilliant North Hollywood High School newspaper, when I realized that there was an odd volume number in the top left corner of the front page. It reads "Vol. LXXXXVIVI."

To find out what was going on, I took their advice and sent them an email.

Immediately after I sent it, I received one of those automatic "Mail Delivery Subsystem" emails informing me that the email I was trying to reach could not be found. I figured that I had mistyped the email, arcade.noho@gmail.com. No big deal. I went back to check, but I had made no mistake. The email did not exist.

I wanted to figure out what was going on, so I visited room 175, the journalism room, to find out. I talked to Ms. Dyes, the teacher for the journalism elective. She was incredibly welcome to my queries, but she was unaware of the email misprint, although she made sure to point out that it wasn't an intentional attempt to dupe the student body. She had me leave my information so the editors could get back to me.

The editors did reach out (from thearcade.noho@gmail.com, a typo as it seems). With the same finesse as in The Arcade itself, they informed me that “the volume number [they] used stems from last year's issue” and “should have been listed as 'CII'.” They apologized for the email misprint and my inconvenience. They also informed me that Vector's own politics editor, Ella Michaels, who was interviewed early last semester, will be featured in the next edition of The Arcade in a new "Husky of the Month" installment, so keep your eyes peeled!

On a side note, Vector now owns the arcade.noho@gmail.com email address, so if you have any questions, comments or concerns, feel free to reach out.

bottom of page